UC Berkeley

Berkeley, University of California

The University of California was chartered in 1868 and its flagship campus was established at Berkeley, on San Francisco Bay. UC Berkeley is divided into 14 colleges and schools, which in turn are subdivided into 130 academic departments and more than 80 interdisciplinary research units. Almost 36000 students are enrolled in 350 degree programs at UC Berkeley.

UC Berkeley is the world’s premier public university, being repeatedly ranked at or near the top in a broad range of fields of study. It has, according to an analysis by the National Research Council, the largest number of highly ranked graduate programs in the USA. There are currently 8 Nobel laureates within the more than 2100 faculty members. A total number of 22 Nobel laureates can be counted within the files of UC Berkeley distinguished faculty members since the campus’ establishment.

UC Berkeley is located on San Francisco Bay, occupying a 1232 acre campus with a sylvan 178 acre central core.

For more information please visit: www.berkeley.edu